Chloe Berut

PhD in political science
berutc's picture
Institutional membership: 
Sciences Po Grenoble
Status: 
Associated researcher (f)
Non permanent.e
Research areas: 
Public policies
Research team: 

Onglet(s)

Présentation

I completed my PhD in political science at Sciences Po Grenoble, Grenoble Alpes University and at the Pacte research center (2015-2020). Since January 2021, I am a post-doctoral researcher working for the French Ministry of Health, in partnership with the Printemps research center. The post-doctoral research focuses on the French National Strategy for Health 2018-2022 and aims at evaluating the devices used to ensure a proper ‘democracy in health’ in a comparative analysis. It also addresses the selection of policy instruments in the case of healthcare access inequalities. During my PhD thesis, I also worked on health policies, as my research focused on the Europeanisation of eHealth policies in France, Austria, and Ireland.

During my PhD, I also taught several courses (‘Conférences de Méthode’) at Sciences Po Grenoble, in particular while I was hired as a temporary teaching and research assistant (Law and Public policy, Public policy in Europe, Introduction to Political sociology).

Subject: 
Gears of influence: the selective use of European Union instruments in domestic eHealth policy-making
Dates: 
October, 2015 to December, 2020
Supervisor(s): 
Abstract: 

The aim of this PhD thesis is to understand how the European Union (EU) may affect domestic electronic health (‘eHealth’) politics and policies despite its lack of competence in this area. Over the past years, the EU has supported the use of information and communication technologies within healthcare systems through the development of numerous instruments. The key argument of this research is that selective and strategic uses of European instruments by domestic actors are the core mechanisms of Europeanisation. This hypothesis is tested using a comparative analysis of eHealth policies in France, Austria and Ireland.
Through actors ‘usage’, the EU is likely to affect the content of public policies, power games between policy actors, or the prioritisation of policy problems. This thesis shows that three conditions explain the appearance of various instances of EU usage at the domestic level: the presence of a strong interest for actors to use external resources in their political work, a positive relationship to the European level, and a diversified structure of European instruments. If these conditions are met, the EU influence is likely to occur at every stage of the policy development process. To take into account the empirical variety of EU usage, a new model based on the multiple streams framework is presented. This model allows for an accurate definition of EU causal influence in the domestic policy-making processes.

Chloe Berut

Docteure en science politique
Portrait de berutc
Affiliation : 
Sciences Po Grenoble
Statut : 
Chercheuse associée
Non permanent.e
Domaines de recherche : 
Action publique
Équipe de recherche : 

Onglet(s)

Présentation

Après l'obtention d'un doctorat en science politique (2015-2020, Université Grenoble Alpes, Sciences Po Grenoble), j'ai commencé en janvier 2021 un post-doctorat au Ministère de la Santé sur l'évaluation de la Stratégie Nationale de Santé 2018-2022. Ce post-doctorat est réalisé en partenariat avec le laboratoire Printemps et sous la direction de Patrick Hassenteufel. Les thématiques de recherche portent sur la prise en compte des usagers dans la formulation de la stratégie ('démocratie en santé') et sur le choix des instruments pour répondre au problème des inégalités sociales et territoriales de santé.

Durant ma thèse, j'ai également travaillé sur les politiques de santé, plus précisément sur la question de l'européanisation de ces politiques dans le cas de la santé électronique ('e-santé). J'ai dans ce cadre mené une recherche qualitative et comparative dans trois pays : la France, l'Autriche et l'Irlande. 

J'ai également dispensé plusieurs enseignements à Sciences Po Grenoble, notamment durant les deux années que j'ai effectuées en tant qu'Attachée Temporaire d'Enseignement et de Recherche : Droit et politique publique, Politique publique en Europe, Introduction à la Sociologie politique

 

Titre de la thèse : 
Mécanique d’une influence : les usages sélectifs de l’Union européenne dans les politiques nationales d’e-santé
Dates : 
octobre, 2015 - décembre, 2020
Directeur.s / Directrice.s : 
Résumé de la thèse : 

L’objectif de cette thèse en science politique est d’analyser l’influence de l’Union européenne (UE) sur les politiques de santé électronique nationales, autrement appelées ‘politiques d’e-santé’. En effet, depuis plusieurs années, l’UE développe des instruments visant à favoriser l’introduction des technologies de l’information et de la communication dans l’organisation des soins, bien qu’elle ne dispose pas de compétences dans ce domaine. L’argument central de cette recherche est que les usages sélectifs et stratégiques des instruments européens sont le vecteur principal de l’Européanisation des politiques publiques nationales. Cette hypothèse est testée à l’aide d’une analyse comparative de trois cas : les politiques d’e-santé en France, en Autriche et en Irlande.
Au travers des usages, l’Union européenne est susceptible d’affecter directement le contenu des politiques publiques, les jeux de pouvoirs des acteurs politiques et institutionnels, ou encore la hiérarchisation des problèmes de politique publique. Cette thèse montre que trois éléments sont nécessaires pour créer des conditions favorables au développement de multiples usages de l’UE : l’existence d’un intérêt des acteurs à puiser au sein de ressources externes au niveau national, une relation positive à l’Union européenne et une structure suffisamment diversifiée des instruments européens. Si ces conditions sont remplies, l’influence de l’Union européenne peut se manifester à tous les stades de développement de la politique publique. Pour prendre en compte cette diversité empirique des usages, un modèle d’analyse des politiques publiques basé sur la théorie des courants multiples est proposé. Ce modèle permet de caractériser précisément l’influence causale de l’Union européenne dans les processus de construction des politiques publiques nationales.